Hello Permaculture World!

March 27, 2011 – Post #1

Welcome everyone to “Go Permaculture Now“! This is the home of my own personal journey and journal into learning and practicing Permaculture. So come along and see how empowering, fulfilling and FUN growing your own food, producing your own energy, or even building your own eco-home can really be!

For those of  you who may  have never  heard of  Permaculture,  it basically  means  “Permanent  Agriculture”,  which as  described by Bill Mollison, who coined the phrase, represents the conscious design and maintenance of agriculturally productive ecosystems which have the diversity, stability and resilience of natural ecosystems.

Permaculture is guided by a “Prime Directive”, where the only ethical decision is to take responsibility for our own existence and that of our children – Bill Mollison.

The Ethical Basis of Permaculture are as follows:

1. Care of the Planet

2. Care for the People

3. Fair Share – reducing consumption

This being the first post for “Go Permaculture Now“, I would like to take this opportunity to express my gratitude to a few people who shared and exposed me to this whole concept of Permaculture.

Firstly, to  Bruce Zell,  from Cairns,  Australia, the  homeland of  Permaculture,  who was the  very first  individual to  share with me  this whole  concept of  Permaculture while travelling together on the great Mekong River on our way to Luang Prabang in Laos in December 2009. I also want to express my gratitude to Azriel Cohen for so willingly sharing his knowledge of numerous resources, organizations and references to teachers back in March 2010.

Finally, to Rich Barker, who allowed me to see for myself with my own two eyes what this was really all about when applied, at his Tilligerry Permaculture Research and Education Farm in Anna Bay, New South Wales, Australia in May 2010. Rich fuelled me to not only take responsibility for my own existence but even more importantly…to take ACTION…now!

Permaculture is both my own personal connection to Nature and to be living a healthy and purposeful life. Permaculture also provides me with a great sense of freedom and independence, to be creative to the extent of my own imagination. It is also very empowering and fulfilling to work in concert with Mother Nature.

Quote: Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
~Lao Tzu

Leave a Reply

